NAU Athletics Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Class

2017 NAU Athletics Hall of Fame
2017 NAU Athletics Hall of Fame

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Northern Arizona University and Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. Lisa Campos are proud to announce the 2017 NAU Athletics Hall of Fame Class comprised of the second round FCS playoff 2003 football team, four-time women's soccer Big Sky All-Conference and All-Academic honoree Kristi Andreassen, track superstar and All-American wide receiver Michael Haynes, and two-time men's basketball All-Big Sky and regular season MVP Andrew Mavis.   

"NAU Athletics is thrilled to announce another exceptional Hall of Fame class," said Campos. "The honorees being inducted were outstanding student-athletes during their time at NAU and contributed to some of the best sport moments in Lumberjack history."

The individuals will be honored at this year's Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which will take place on Friday, Oct. 6 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Flagstaff at 6 p.m. The honorees will also be recognized at the Hall of Fame Game on Oct. 7 versus Illinois State.


2003 Football Team

The 2003 Northern Arizona football team won the Big Sky Conference Championship and went on to upset top-seeded McNeese State behind freshman quarterback Jason Murrietta's five touchdown passes and a strong defensive effort en route to a 35-3 win in Lake Charles. Murrietta completed 24-for-35 passes for 285 yards and five touchdowns, hitting nine different receivers on the night. Four different receivers caught touchdowns, including two by senior Chris Nash, who had a game-high seven receptions. The Lumberjacks held McNeese State scoreless in the second half, adding touchdowns in each quarter to complete one of the biggest first-round upsets in NCAA Division I-AA playoff history. At the conclusion of the 2003 season Murrietta and Clarence Moore combined for six No. 1 season records. The 2003 team was only the fourth squad in NAU's 88-year history to record nine or more wins. Eight of NAU's nine wins were by two or more touchdowns. Two players earned All-American honors, eight players earned Big Sky All-Conference honors, and Murrietta was named the 2003 Big Sky Offensive MVP.


Kristi Andreassen, Women's Soccer, 2007-10

Kristi Andreassen was an excellent student-athlete and excelled in the classroom being named ESPN Academic All-American of the Year in 2010. Andreassen was a two-time CoSIDA All-American (1st team in 2010 and 2nd team in 2009). Andreassen was a member of the 2008 and 2009 Big Sky Tournament Championship squads, as well as the 2010 Big Sky Regular Season Championship team. She was a four-time Big Sky All-Academic selection and a four-time All-Big Sky selection. The three-time First Team All-Big Sky selection is first in NAU history in matches started in a season (22), tied for fourth in game-winning goals in a season (3), and 10th in shots in a season (48). Andreassen ended her career tied for first in matches played (79), second all-time in matches started (78), seventh in career points (38), tied for sixth in goals (15) and fifth in game-winning goals (5). Andreassen finished her career second on the Big Sky's most minutes played in a season list with 1,934 in 2008.


Michael Haynes, Football and Track & Field, 1986-88

Michael Haynes was an All-American wide receiver for NAU for two seasons. In 1987, Haynes led NAU in all-purpose yards (882). He holds the Walkup Skydome record for the most kickoff returns in a single game (7) and most kickoff return yards (217). His stellar marks garnered him All-America honors in 1987. He was drafted by the Atlanta Falcons in the seventh round of the 1988 NFL Draft. Haynes played with the Falcons from 1988-93, followed by a stint with the New Orleans Saints from 1994-97. While with the Falcons, Haynes caught 254 passes for 4,066 yards and 33 touchdowns in six seasons. Haynes led the NFL in yards per reception in 1991 with 22.4, and from 1991-93 he averaged 36.7 yards per touchdown catch. On the track, Haynes recorded the second fastest 55-meter dash time (6.20) and second-fastest 100-meter time in school history. He won the Big Sky Indoor Championship 55 meters in 1988 with a time of 6.22 for a conference record and placed second in the 200 meters with a time of 21.45. He is sixth all-time in the Big Sky with a 6.20 in the 55 meters. Haynes' speed led him to an appearance in the 1988 Olympic Trials.


Andrew Mavis, Men's Basketball, 1996-98

Andrew Mavis played for NAU for only two seasons, but in both years earned First Team All-Big Sky honors, leading to being named the 1997-98 Big Sky Most Valuable Player and the team MVP. Mavis was a member of the 1997 and 1998 Big Sky Regular Season Championship teams, along with the 1998 Big Sky Tournament team that advanced to the NCAA Tournament. He led NAU in scoring both seasons finishing with 825 total points. Despite only playing two seasons, he finished his career as the all-time leader in made three-pointers. He also finished as the leader in three-point percentage at .471 and season three-pointers made. Mavis went on to play professionally overseas and represented Team Canada in the 2000 Olympics.