Lumberjacks Walk the Carpet in Night of Celebration

Lumberjacks Walk the Carpet in Night of Celebration


FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – The Northern Arizona University Student-Athlete Advisory Committee held the inaugural Louies awards show Wednesday night at the Prochnow Auditorium to celebrate the year that was in NAU Athletics. It was a night of celebration, honoring and recognizing all of the Lumberjack student-athletes for their success in the classroom, in competition and in the community.

The night began with an extravagant blue carpet entrance as the student-athletes, coaches and staff arrived at the event. The show hosted by Mitch Strohman, the Voice of the Lumberjacks followed and it was a grand celebration with 16 awards presented. Throughout the night, videos produced by each of the 15 NAU teams themselves were shown to provide an inside look at each team.

List of the 2013-14 Louies award winners:

Female Newcomer of the Year: Brittani Lusain, Women's Basketball

Male Newcomer of the Year: Futsum Zienasellassie, Cross Country/Track & Field

Sharp Axe Award: Women's Tennis

True Blue Award: Alana D'Onofrio, Soccer

Guiding Axe Award: Tanya Vogel, Senior Associate AD/SWA

Inspiration Award: Gwen Smithberg, Swimming & Diving

Female Jack That Gives Back: Malia Wahinepio, Women's Tennis

Male Jack That Gives Back: Tim Freriks, Cross Country/Track & Field

Lumberjack Cup: Women's Tennis

Team of the Year: Men's Cross Country

Coach of the Year: Eric Heins, Cross Country/Track & Field

Female Athlete of the Year: Lauren Laszczak, Track & Field

Male Athlete of the Year: Zach Bauman, Football

Moment of the Year: Ryan Reardon, Football

The Lumberjack: Emma Lowther, Swimming & Diving, and Austin Hasquet, Football