A Night to Remember: 2015 Louie's Awards

A Night to Remember: 2015 Louie's Awards


FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – On Wednesday night at Prochnow Auditorium, the NAU Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hosted the second annual Louie's Awards, a night for Lumberjack student-athletes, coaches, administration and staff to sit back, relax and remember the 2014-15 academic year.

The academic year has been another widely successful one for Northern Arizona University Athletics. The Lumberjacks have brought back six conference championships to date, seen a number of school records broken and has had their share of heart-stopping upsets. In the classroom and in the community, NAU student-athletes have continued to represent the department to the highest degree and the Louie's celebrated all of the student-athletes' success.

Cameras greeted all in attendance as they walked the blue carpet entrance upon arrival, setting the stage for the rest of the night. The awards show was hosted by the Voice of the Lumberjacks Mitch Strohman and in total 16 awards were presented. In addition, team videos produced by each of the 15 NAU Athletics teams themselves were shown throughout the night.

List of the 2014-15 Louie's award winners:

Sharp Axe Award: Women's Tennis

Female Newcomer of the Year: Alina Staffeldt, Swimming & Diving

Male Newcomer of the Year: Emmanuel Butler, Football

Female Jack That Gives Back: Cassidy McLean, Soccer

Male Jack That Gives Back: Dejzon Walker, Football

Moment of the Year: Len Springs' block leading to Quinton Upshur's game-winning layup in NAU Men's Basketball's 74-73 CIT Quarterfinal win over Kent State

Female Athlete of the Year: Lauren Stuart, Track & Field

Male Athlete of the Year: Deante Kemper, Track & Field

True Blue NAU: Laura Jabczenski, Golf

Male Sport Coach of the Year: Eric Heins, Cross Country/Track & Field

Female Sport Coach of the Year: Andy Johns, Swimming & Diving

Guiding Axe: Cody Hodgeson, Head Strength & Conditioning Coach

Men's Team of the Year: Men's Basketball

Women's Team of the Year: Swimming & Diving

The Lumberjack: Austin Hasquet, Football, and Johanna Vang, Women's Tennis