Men’s Tennis Leaves Las Vegas After More Consolation Wins

Men’s Tennis Leaves Las Vegas After More Consolation Wins

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – Sophomore Hugo Ramadier had to retire from his third round match after an injury, but the Lumberjacks did add singles and doubles consolation victories on the third day of the USTA/ITA Mountain Region Championships in Las Vegas.

The only Lumberjack player still alive in the main draw of the tournament, Ramadier faced Filipp Pogostkin of Boise State in the round of 32. After dropping the first set 6-4, Ramadier had to retire with the score 1-1 in the second set after sustaining a foot injury.

In singles consolation matches, which were played as single pro sets, NAU Senior David Flodberg picked up an 8-4 victory while freshmen Dominic Bermudez and Bruno Ferreira each recorded 8-6 wins. Flodberg and junior Robin Pezzutto added a consolation doubles win after their opponents from Nevada retired with the score 5-3.

The Lumberjacks will close their fall schedule back in Las Vegas next weekend, sending players to the UNLV Larry Easley Memorial Classic beginning next Friday.

Northern Arizona Results

Singles – Third Round

Filipp Pogostkin (BSU) def. Hugo Ramadier (NAU), 6-4, 1-1, ret.

Singles – Consolation

Dominic Bermudez (NAU) def. Markus Schleuter (MSU), 8-6

Felipe Frattini (NMSU) def. Patrick Schimmelbauer (NAU), 8-6

Bruno Ferreira (NAU) def. Rodrigo Azevedo (ISU), 8-6

Erik Sheldon (BSU) def. Bruno Ferreira (NAU), 8-6

David Flodberg (NAU) def. Gino Octa (UU), 8-4

Doubles – Consolation

Flodberg/Pezzutto (NAU) def. Kuharszky/Ouvard (NEV), 3-5, ret.

DID YOU KNOW…Northern Arizona senior David McNeill was selected as the Male Academic All-America® of the Year in the University division for the 2009-10 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America® Men's Track and Field and Cross Country Teams, as chosen by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). He is one of 12 student-athletes in the country to earn the title of Academic All-America of the Year in the university division, joining the likes of Florida's Tim Tebow in football, Kansas' Cole Aldrich in men's basketball and Connecticut's Maya Moore in women's basketball among the individual sport winners.