Big Sky Names Andreassen Defensive MVP, Bednarz Top Newcomer

Big Sky Names Andreassen Defensive MVP, Bednarz Top Newcomer


OGDEN, Utah – Senior Kristi Andreassen was named the Big Sky Conference Defensive Most Value Player and junior transfer Chelsea Bednarz earned Newcomer of the Year honors, highlighting 10 Lumberjacks that made the Big Sky Soccer All-Conference Teams, the conference announced Tuesday. The 10 All-Conference selections equal the 2008 squad for the most players to be honored by the Big Sky in a season in program history.

Andreassen was also a unanimous selection for the All-Big Sky first team, the only unanimous selection for the All-Conference teams, and became only the second NAU player to be a three-time first team selection. She was joined on the first team by senior defender Tori Howe, junior midfielder Sam Monahan and junior goalkeeper Tori Rocke. Bednarz was Honorable Mention in addition to being the Newcomer of the Year, while senior midfielders Brenna Boies, Brandy Carr and Corie McGuire, junior forward Jenna Samora, and junior defender Georgia Foltz also received Honorable Mention.

Andreassen played every minute of the regular season on defense while also leading the team with six goals and 15 points offensively and being named Big Sky Defensive Player of the Week three times. She became the program's all-time leader matches started and consecutive starts and is two games away from tieing the school record for most career games played. She is also in the top-six in career points, goals and shots in school history. She joined Cee Cee Odorfer as the only players in program history to be three-time All-Big Sky first team selections. She is also the first Defensive MVP from Northern Arizona since Krista Earp earned the accolade in 2000.

Howe became a four-time All-Conference selection and earned her first Big Sky first team selection after being a second team selection each of the last-two years. Howe has played all but one minute this season on defense, helping NAU allow only 15 goals in 17 games. Rocke made the first team for the first time in her career after leading the conference in goals against average, save percentage and shutouts and breaking the NAU career shutout record. After leading the conference in assists, Monahan earned All-Big Sky first team honors after being honorable mention in each of her first-two seasons.

After transferring to Northern Arizona from Santa Clara, Bednarz tied for the league lead with four goals in conference play before sustaining a season-ending injury at Eastern Washington to earn Newcomer of the Year and Honorable Mention. She is the first NAU Newcomer of the Year since Samora, who became a three-time All-Conference honoree this season, earned that distinction as a freshman in 2008. Boies broke the program record in career assists and finished second in the league in assists in becoming a four-time All-Big Sky honoree. Carr, who totaled four goals and two assists, and McGuire, who recorded two goals and two assists, both earned Honorable Mention selections for the second-consecutive year. Foltz earned her first All-Big Sky honor in her third season as a starter at center back for a Lumberjack defensive unit that recorded nine shutouts during the regular season and broke school and Big Sky records with six consecutive shutouts.

Northern Arizona plays for its third consecutive Big Sky Championship title this weekend, hosting the Big Sky Championship presented by Mortenson Construction starting Friday in Lumberjack Stadium.

DID YOU KNOW…Northern Arizona swimming and diving has been recognized by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for its academic excellence in the classroom. The women earned the Division I Team Scholar All-American award for the fifth time under head coach Andy Johns in 2010.