Women’s Tennis Downed by Sacramento State, 4-0, in Big Sky Final

Women’s Tennis Downed by Sacramento State, 4-0, in Big Sky Final

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – No. 51 Sacramento State cruised to the doubles point and won three singles matches in straight-sets to defeat Northern Arizona, 4-0, in the Big Sky championship final. The Hornets defeated NAU in the conference final for the fifth-straight season, winning their ninth-consecutive Big Sky championship and earning an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

The Lumberjacks ended the season with a 13-7 record after finishing second in the Big Sky regular season standings and defeating Montana in the Big Sky championship semifinals. Sacramento State was the only Big Sky team to defeat NAU all season, as the Hornets have now won 72-straight Big Sky matches and will once again represent the conference in the NCAA Tournament in mid-May.

The Hornets jumped on NAU early with a pair of doubles wins. Sacramento State's Rebeca Delgado and Tatsiana Kapshai got past NAU junior Orsi Golovics and freshman Malia Wahinepio, 8-3, to open action. The Lumberjack pair of juniors Edit Suhajda and Yumi Hasegawa had a 6-4 lead at No. 3, but an 8-4 win for the Hornets at No. 2 gave the hosts the doubles point.

In singles play, Sacramento State got a win from Clarisse Baca over Wahinepio, 6-2, 6-2 at No. 4 to go up 2-0. NAU junior Aimee Oki took a 6-3, 6-0 loss at No. 3 to put the Hornets one point away from victory. Golovics would be outlasted by Delgado at No. 2, 6-2, 6-4, to give Sacramento State the win. Hasegawa had a lead at No. 5 and the No. 1 and 6 singles matches were into a third set when the match was clinched for the Hornets.

Northern Arizona ended the year with its fourth-straight winning season and fifth-consecutive winning conference record. With no seniors on the roster, the entire starting lineup should return for the 2011 season.

DID YOU KNOW...Northern Arizona swimming and diving has been recognized by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for its academic excellence in the classroom. The women earned the Division I Team Scholar All-American award for the fifth time under head coach Andy Johns in 2010.