Women's Tennis' Doubles Excel at Day 2 of Aggie Invitational

Women's Tennis'  Doubles Excel at Day 2 of Aggie Invitational

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – The second day of the Aggie Invitational was a big one for the NAU women's tennis' doubles pairs with two duos making it to the semifinals of the tournament. The Lumberjacks' third doubles team also advanced to the finals of the back draw after winning two matches today.

The Lumberjack duo of freshman Hannah Stone and junior Alice Pacaut defeated New Mexico State's Ros-Polly Nguyen and Mandy Mallen, 8-5, in the quarterfinals. NAU's pair of juniors Nicole Perez and Malia Wahinepio also knocked off a team from the host school, Jodie Williams and Annemieke Witte, 8-6 in their first doubles match of the day. Both teams fell in the semifinals though. Junior Alice Walker and freshman Johanna Vang bounced back from their loss yesterday to reach the finals of the back draw by defeating two pairs from Texas of the Permian Basin, Ynez Sanchez and Jordan Turner, and Breigh Shotwell and Olivia Baltazar, both by the scores of 8-1.

The Lumberjacks went 3-4 as a team in singles play on Saturday with Stone, Wahinepio and Pacaut earning victories. For all three, it was their second singles win of the weekend.

The Aggie Invitational concludes tomorrow.

Northern Arizona Results:


Mandy Mallen (NMSU) def. Alice Walker (NAU), 6-2, 6-2

Natalia Salum (NMSU) def. Ghizelene Doballah (NAU), 6-3, 6-2

Hannah Stone (NAU) def. Annemieke Witte (NMSU), 6-2, 6-3

Denise Van Der Ben (NMSU) def. Nicole Perez (NAU), 6-2, 6-7, 6-2

Malia Wahinepio (NAU) def. Karla Martinez (TSU), 1-6, 6-4, 6-2

Ginet Pinero (NMSU) def. Johanna Vang (NAU), 2-6, 6-4, 10-8

Alice Pacaut (NAU) def. Jodie Williams (NMSU), 2-6, 6-3, Retired Injury


Stone/Pacaut (NAU) def. Nguyen/Mallen (NMSU), 8-5 (Quarterfinals)

Perez/Wahinepio (NAU) def. Williams/Witte (NMSU), 8-6 (Quarterfinals)

Walker/Vang (NAU) def. Sanchez/Turner (UTPB), 8-1 (Back Draw Quarterfinals)

Sylvain/Pinero (NMSU) def. Stone/Pacaut (NAU), 8-1 (Semifinals)

Salum/Van Der Ben (NMSU) def. Perez/Wahinepio (NAU), 8-6 (Semifinals)

Walker/Vang (NAU) def. Shotwell/Baltazar (UTPB), 8-1 (Back Draw Semifinals)