Men's Cross Country Earns At-Large Bid to NCAA Championships

Men's Cross Country Earns At-Large Bid to NCAA Championships

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field Committee announced Sunday that the Northern Arizona University men's cross country team earned one of thirteen at-large berths to the NCAA National Cross Country Championships in Terre Haute, Ind.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

This will mark the fifth consecutive year, and the 20th time since 1984, that the team has earned a spot in the national meet. NAU has recorded eight top-10 finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Championships since 2000, including two fourth-place podium visits in their last four championship efforts.

The Lumberjack squad consists of four runners with national championship experience, including 2010 All-American Diego Estrada and 2009 All-American Jordan Chipangama. Junior Tim Freriks will compete in his second national meet, and senior Andrew Belus will run for the third time in Terre Haute. Seniors Matt Coloe and John Yatsko, along with freshman Caleb Hoover, will make their first national championship appearances.

NAU's men placed third Saturday at the NCAA Mountain Region Championships in Provo, Utah, barely missing an automatic bid into the national meet. Their No. 12 national ranking, however, along with their high finish, allowed them to earn a spot in the championship race.

Indiana State will host the Championships, Nov. 21, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The men's race will begin at approximately 10:08 a.m. Arizona time, followed by the women's race at approximately 10:58.

A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from 10 a.m to 11:30 Arizona time, Monday, Nov. 21, on In addition, highlights from the championships will be included as part of the CBS NCAA Fall Seasonal Show scheduled to air on Sunday, Dec. 25, from 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 Arizona time on CBS HD.

Men's Qualifying Teams
Men's Automatic Qualifying Teams Men's At-large Teams
Brigham Young Cal Poly
Colorado Columbia
Eastern Kentucky Georgia
Florida Michigan
Florida State Minnesota
Georgetown New Mexico
Indiana Northern Arizona
Iona Notre Dame
North Carolina State Ohio State
Oklahoma Princeton
Oklahoma State Providence
Portland Tulsa
Stanford Washington State
Texas A&M